redfiona99: (Default)
During the Spanish trip (see posts 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10 and 11) I was reading LA Confidential.

It is an awesome book. It's thick and dark and rich (like good goulash) and I want to return to it to spend more time in that world. James Ellroy puts words together in a pleasing way.

This bit is more about how well they adapted it because yeah, I can see why they said it was unadaptable (see also there are many bad goulashes out there).

What interests me is how well they caught the characters even when they really changed them (especially Jack Vincennes). Because they really get how Bud White is a great hulking brute with a giant squishy heart and that's both his greatest strength and his greatest weakness. (And that he adds the heart that Ed Exley, bless his cotton socks, does not have. He is a great man, not a good man.)

They do cut the bit where it's not his violent qualities which help him hunt down the bad guy, but the brains that everyone assumes he doesn't have because he's a hulking brute. (Also Russell Crowe is perfect as him. Like actually perfect.)

They also cut a lot of Inez but I can see why because to do everything in the book, you'd have to make it a mini-series.

Jack Vincennes is interesting because they make him both less relatable (corrupted by fame vs hiding a terrible secret) and a lot more (because his secret makes him a terrible human being while you know corrupted by fame is at least relatable). I'm presuming they had to to hook a big name actor (I am eliding for a reason).

I think it's that actually getting the characters to feel right is the difference between a good adaptation and a bad one. It's like Ran and King Lear, they get the important bits of the characters so all the changes work. This is versus say the Disney Musketeers, which gets Milady and the Cardinal so wrong that the whole thing cannot work, no matter how closely (or not) they stick to the rest of it.
redfiona99: (tsubasa reservoir chronicle)
Catching up on film reviews

Wiser heads than me have written about how weird, wrong and bad it is to have Scarlett Johansson as Major Kusanagi, so I shan't be writing about that.

The thing that freaked me out was how things that the Major did in the animated film version became things that happened to her in this.

Obviously it's not a shot for shot remake but there's several scenes that are blocked to look and play out in really similar ways.

The example I'm going to use is from towards the end, so there's slight spoilers.

In the big end fight, in the animated film, already injured and knowing that interfacing with the wild killer robot guards will do her further damage, the Major chooses to plug herself in to solve the mystery.

In the equivalent scene in the live-action film, the robot plugs the Major into itself.

It's not the only example, but it's probably the clearest because of how similarly the two scenes are shot.

It gives the film (and the Major) a very different vibe than in the animated version, and I do not approve.

Batou is my favourite, but if Batou isn't my favourite in any version, that's probably a signal that I'm trying to tell you I've been kidnapped and am being held against my will.
redfiona99: (films)
Because L assures me that sometimes my post should be up to date and my film reviews are now running 5-6 years late.

I start with some caveats:
1 - in my comic book days, I was very much a Marvel girl. Make mine Marvel etc. The nearest I got to DC was Batman.

2 - James Gunn is one of those creative types who appears to have a direct line to my soul. He is responsible for an excessive amount of me crying in cinemas; somewhat famously, the time Guardians of the Galaxy made me cry so hard I gave L a migraine.

I have very little skin in this game (Superman) and I know that I will enjoy it anyway.

That being said, it's so nice to see a friendly Superman on screen.

I blame a mixture of Quentin Tarantino and the comics' Dark Age for the dour Supermen we have been having on the big screen recently (this applies to big screen only, the cartoons have been suitable).

Quentin Tarantino because of the whole which of Clark Kent's identities is the "real" one spiel, and everyone wanting to be an auteur like him and ape him in every possible way. (Said with affection for his films)

The Dark Age for that period of comics were everything had to be bleaker than bleak. And fellas, I understand the appeal, because those were the comics of my teenage years too. But they were a short blip in a long lifetime of the Superman character.

Superman is the best of us and happens to be an übermensch, not just an übermensch.
redfiona99: (Default)
The two of the three big trailers from Comic Con have left me underwhelmed. I was worried that I was being impossible or nostalgia was blinding me, because the one I quite enjoyed is the one where I don't know anything about the source material but I don't think that's the case.

Let's start with that one I enjoyed. The Witcher looks like perfectly servicable nonsense. And let's be honest, they had me at "people with swords". I am a simple creature.

Cats does not look like perfectly servicable nonsense. I did wonder whether I felt that way because it didn't live up to my expectations but no, I think even a completely disinterested observer would go, "nah, that looks terrible."

It looks like someone has spent a lot of money on SFX that are not up to the job.* I know that the only way we will ever get SFX that are up to the job is through failures like this, but I'd much rather they'd fail on something I am not fond of.

Because I am fond of Cats. I went to see it for a birthday party when I was little, and will still happily belt out random bits of songs for no good reason. As someone who does like it, this looks godawful. None of the characters look right and I do not even want to know WTF they have done to my beloved magical Mr. Mistoffelees. He is supposed to look magical and mysterious, not like Charlie Chaplin Cat! I am sure Ian McKellen and Dame Judi Dench will be having all the fun in their roles so it does at least have that going for it.

I am somehow even less impressed by the new Watchmen trailer than I am by the Cats trailer.

It's not like Watchmen is my favourite Alan Moore comic. Promethea is (yes, I know). But I have long since given up on ever getting any film or TV version of Promethea (mostly because of the yes, I know).

But there is already an Alan Moore comic about a violent police state with people running around in masks. It's called V for Vendetta. But I can imagine it is hard to raise funds for a TV show where a fascist is brought to power with help from the religious right, and then puts people in cages. Obvs. too far-fetched (and yes, I know it's set in the UK).

Either which way, I have no interest in watching Damon Lindelhof's dark future AU fic of the Watchmen! Mostly OCs with a few canon characters appearing.

Not least of all because he suffers from JJ Abrams problem of "dude, I have seen the same films as you, that is not anything new!" For instance, I suspect we're supposed to be shocked, shocked I tell you that FBI lady is Laurie when we find out somewhere in episode 13-17.

If they do decide to give him any depth, Jeremy Irons will knock (possibly spoilery character) out of the park. Plus, he gets to practise his German again. I am intrigued, just a little, by how they will handle (spoilery character) because, yeah, I had problems with how the film did him. I have no idea if that's because I read the character differently to everyone else, or because the film decided to simplify his character, which ruined a lot of the glorious ambiguity of (spoiler) but either which way, (spoiler) is the only thing that interests me about it.

I would prefer to be thrilled by Comic Con trailers!

* There is a reason why everyone is posting that image from What We Do In The Shadows.

Good Omens

Sep. 18th, 2017 09:43 pm
redfiona99: (Default)
You know how I was the only person not hyped for Deadpool. I feel like I'm the only person not hyped for Good Omens. Because I think the leads are horribly mis-cast and I've seen the costume photos and think they look horribly, horribly wrong too.

I will do most of my Eeyoring in private :) but I had an urge to shout this at the universe just once.
redfiona99: (Thinking)
There is a link, eventually.

I have decided that there is nothing wrong with Grimm that couldn't be fixed with better writing and an actor who can actually act in the lead role. He seems like a nice guy but he suffers from having one facial expression.

That being said, I hope they don't kill off his girlfriend or his partner, because I fear it's the kind of show that would go for that kind of drama.

On a similar tip, and I know it's finished but please no spoilers, I hope they don't kill of Aizawa in Death Note. He is also lovely. But then again most of the characters are, even the various Gods of death. It's going to be very painful when it all goes to hell when Kira is revealed.

Also on a similar tip, and containing spoilers for a book published in 1844, dear BBC Musketeers, you know how BBC shows quite frequently change the details of the things they're adapting. Could you maybe not kill off Constance? It would be the most lovely thing you could do, because I am as in love with her as D'Artagnan is and it would hurt. Also, by the by, the Milady defenders always seem to forget that she killed Constance out of sheer malice. The rest I could forgive her for, but not that.
redfiona99: (Thinking)
The Adventures of Tintin )

It's perfectly competently made, but it's absolutely lacking in anything that resembles heart or soul.

TT : Closer To The Edge )

Definitely worth a watch.

Then I rewatched Games of Shadows, and still feel about it the same way I did when I first watched it and then the first half hour of the Sherlock Scandal in Bohemia/Belgravia. I will get round to writing about Sherlock's second season. I think I am finally capable of not flailing about the end of the third episode.

On the way back I watched Pirates: An Adventure With Scientists! which is a bit slow to get going but is lots of fun once it does.

I also watched the US version of The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo )

Virgin flights also have TV shows on now, so I got to try out

Smash: I got bored half-way through the first episode. I think I'd like it more if there was more of Anjelica Huston's character. And less wangst. Also, more realism. Because yeah, there's no way Megan Hilty's character wouldn't easily have got the role because Katharine McPhee's character hasn't the vocal power or presence. Not amount of Jack Davenport being a Cowell-esque bastard will make up for that.

Alcatraz: Didn't get further than the first six minutes of the first episode. I've figured out my problem with JJ Abrams and his productions, it's like Vince Russo, I know his kind of twists already and there's nothing behind the twists for me to enjoy.

Hit And Miss: Very good. But a bit too Tony Abbot making everyone suffer for a transatlantic flight. Because Abbot is a master at making the characters believably good, bad, horrible, nice, messed up and human.

Once Upon A Time: Which I didn't watch when it was broadcast because it was on on Thursdays and Thursday is fencing day and will not be interfered with. I liked it, and can see why everyone else enjoys it so much, and if they ever show it on normal TV not on Thursdays, I'm definitely giving this a go. If only to see what the hell Gold's deal is. And yes, I know, I'm focussing on the wrong thing, but 1) I love Robert Carlyle and have ever since Hamish MacBeth, 2) I have been primed to enjoy him being cranky, tormented and not so nice by Stargate Universe, 3) Mr. Gold/Rumplestiltskin is the kind of character I ping for.
redfiona99: (films)
Finally seen the Jim Carrey Christmas Carol, admittedly under adverse conditions - after the unmatchable Alistair Sim version, and it's not as bad as I had been lead to believe. I think it would have been better with different actors as Christmas Past and Christmas Present because trying to figure out what accent Jim Carrey was attempting (and failing to do properly) was distracting. Also, I could have done without the chase sequence.

Christmas Yet To Come was brilliantly effective though.

General opinion was that it was good and worth a watch.
redfiona99: (Default)
I'm incredibly sad to hear about Neil Armstrong's death. He belonged to a time where we had fear and terror, of the cold war and nuclear war, but also hope, and he helped to bring that hope.

RL:

Things that are good - discovering, much to your surprise, that this is a Bank Holiday weekend.

Things that are better - because of this, you get paid a weekend early.

Challenge Cup Final:

I'm just hoping it's a good match, because while neither side are Saints, neither side are Wigan either. (They are the forces of good and the forces of evil respectively.)

Rugby is a lot less terrifying when it's not your team playing.

Why is Rat-boy on my TV when Wigan aren't playing. Once again the BBC are biased in favour of Wigan.

If Warrington win, we're not going to hear the end of the complaining about that knock on.

The Germans have taken to Rugby League. We will convert the world. I know there's an Austrian league already.

Interviewer: "At 30 minutes gone, a storm hit. That could have distracted you."
Lee Briers: "Do you mean Leeds or the weather?"

Adrian Morley is Northern. With a capital N.
Interviewer: "You being an old geezer, do you appreciate these more?"
Adrian Morley: "No. Because you know you've not got that many opportunities left." The famous Northern no that means yes.

It pleases me that Stephen Ratchford has got a shiny, because he's been very impressive in lots of teams that haven't won things.

While I totally agree that Brett Hodgson deserves the Lance Todd, I would have given it to Richie Myler. It pleases me to no end to have Ian Millward agree with what I said.

Paralympics:

As I have been informed by the papers that this is the first time that any US channel is covering the Paralympics (even if it is only online), I feel I should put in an advert for Wheelchair Fencing.

While not as well known as wheelchair basketball and murderball (wheelchair rugby), both of which are stupid amounts of fun to watch - no lie, I prefer wheelchair basketball to the other one, it is fantastic to watch, and the true heir to schlager fencing.

The rules are the same as non-wheelchair fencing, except there is no moving back beyond the movement of the trunk.

So yes, definitely give it a watch if you can.

Moto GP:

You will all love Ben Spies. I mean, he's loveable enough anyway (it is not his fault he's riding against my beloved Texas Tornado and Dovi), but he speaks such sense on the topic of his mother. I feel I should explain. His manager, agent and general person of greatest advice giving is his mother. People occasionally suggest that this is odd, or label him a mama's boy. He points out that plenty of the other racers have their father's in this position and nobody bats an eyelid. He says it's because a lot of men are threatened when women break into areas that they consider to be men's areas. Also that people commenting doesn't bother him, because it doesn't bother his mother.

The Armstrong Affair:

Other than the question of actual evidence, when they've never been able to catch Armstrong on anything (to quote my mother, "you know if they could have done, the French would have"), and a lot of the people willing to testify against him are people who have previously been caught doping and how much you're willing to believe them. Personally, my line is "I believe what George Hincapie and Tyler Hamilton say", but I'm a huge fan of both men, so I may be biased.

There is another problem, other than actually, USADA, you can't remove Armstrong's titles, only the UCI can (never mind that the UCI don't actually run the Tour and would probably need the ASO's agreement*). It's not like anyone immediately behind Armstrong wasn't doping too. Seriously, reading the data here - http://www.brettluelling.com/post/3435612945/armstrongs-tdf-victories, you're having to go to the guys who finished 10-30th before you hit people who probably weren't doping. And that's only probably. From the evidence and testimony produced from questioning previous doping offenders, doping was team-wide and systematic, so if we asterisk anyone that was, in that given year**, on a team with anyone who has been caught, that drops us down to the people finishing 30th - 50th. If we're lucky. The French might get their Tour winner after all.

What I'd do is just asterisk everything after Indurain***, up to the one Contador won, and say we can't tell who won because they were all on something. Defeatist, yes, but it makes more sense than having to try to figure out who was and wasn't when it was mostly was.

* yes, cycling's governing body don't run cycling's blue ribbon event. No, it makes no sense. Yes, there have been many, many hilarious arguments.

** I'm being nice, for once.

*** Indurain may or may not have doped, but he never got caught and all of his old teammates aren't lining up to declaim he did. Possibly because Big Mig was slightly less abrasive. Fair, no, but it is what it is.

Football: )

Anna Karenina:

The new Anna Karenina looks like it will be terrible, but given that Joe Wright couldn't get the social structure of Regency England right (Pride and Prejudice) when most of the books are in a language he reads, I have my doubts about him being able to do pre-Revolutionary Russia any justice. Also, Jude Law as sour-faced, rotten toothed Karenin?! Also, Aaron Johnston is ~10 years too young for Vronsky.
redfiona99: (Default)
The two are, believe it or not, not related.

I watched 'The Mystery of Edwin Drood' on BBC2 (BBC link here - http://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b019nky7). It was good, and I appear to have been doing Matthew Rhys a grave disservice for several years. The man can act! (Some explanation - he and Matthew MacFaddyen came to prominence at similar times and the similarity of name caused me to confuse them and I just assumed he was as bad as MacFaddyen.)

Alun Armstrong was fantastic as Mr. Grewgious, to the point where I got annoyed at the background music because he doesn't need the stirring music of duty and sorrow to get his point across.

I get visions of people complaining about Mr. Bazzard, given that wandering snarky assistants are not properly Dickensian, except, you know, how Mr. Bazzard actually is direct from Dickens. And I <3ed him muchly.

I spent an excessive amount of time trying to place where I'd seen the actor for Edwin Drood. It turns out that I'd last seen him as Ratallack in 'The Shadow Line'. Freddie Fox can act because, well, yes, totally different character and mannerisms and everything.

Obviously, they had to write in their own ending Spoilers )

I shall however be good and not refer to the whole thing as men with poor social skills and the awesome women they love. In particular further spoilers )

~~~~

Book Meme - Day 26 - A book that changed your opinion about something

I found this a very difficult question to answer because well, I try not to do this. Not in the sense of closed-mindness but the idea of having your opinion moved by fiction, unless it highlights an issue you'd never thought of before or a viewpoint you hadn't considered (it's not a book but 'Cathy Come Home' - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cathy_Come_Home is probably one of the greatest examples of this, although keeping a Dickens theme, you could probably suggest school conditions for 'Nicholas Nickelby' (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nicholas_Nickleby) or workhouse conditions for Oliver Twist (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oliver_Twist) strikes me as being a bit odd.

I think that might be why, if I'm reading non-fiction that isn't autobiographical or clearly personal viewpoint essays, I'd rather have the facts and then any discussion of the facts or author's conclusions from the facts clearly and separately marked.

This is not to say an author can't bring themselves into it and do it well to make a point. As the example, and my choice for this meme answer, I shall choose Stephen Jay Gould's essay 'The Median Isn't the Message' (which can be found here - http://www.cancerguide.org/median_not_msg.html) originally taken from his essay collection 'Bully For Brontosaurus' (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bully_for_Brontosaurus).

The Other Days )
redfiona99: (Default)
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1340800/

So I went to watch it because I decided I couldn't complain about it if I didn't.

I was wrong. It wasn't a total ruination.

The short, twitter-version of the review goes - TinkerTailorSoldierSpy - Oldman exceptional, everything else (with a couple of honourable exceptions) a bit meh.

Gary Oldman is exceptional, really, I mean, even by his high standards spoilers ) and I'd be cool with him getting the Oscar, but if the rest of it (poss. exception set design) gets Oscars it'll just show how bad this year's set of films have been.

The honourable exceptions previously mentioned are spoilers )

The major problem is that, because it only runs to 2 hours 7 minutes, they've had to squash things and bend things, which is not going to work when your original book is 440-ish pages. But for some unknown reason, it's the female characters who have been hit hardest by these changes. Spoilery specifics )

I mean, there were some points where the film gets mega props, you know, actually engaging Russian speakers to play Russian speaking characters. I can't comment on the quality of the Russian or the Hungarian but I have hopes.

Discussion of some location changes )

As I said previously, the changes in plot/character/stuff have been forced on them due to running time. Some of the choices made are thoroughly reasonable spoilers )

Some of them I'm neutral about Spoilers ) and some of them I just don't get spoilers )

Then there's the ones I understand why but dislike And here we get more spoilers )

I will defend the film on one point )
redfiona99: (Default)
[Error: unknown template qotd]

A pit of non-poisonous snakes would be no problem. A bit of spiders would give me a heart attack so I'd be dead whether or not they were poisonous. This is the problem with being a card-carrying arachnophobe. But I am quite fond of our friends in the suborder Serpentes.

~~~~

I have been knitting my girl cousin's Christmas present. I was about to transfer between balls of cotton and realised I dropped a stitch. Cue me unknitting 5 rows and not messing that up and re-knitting them and then switching balls. Score one for vague competence. Now I just have to knit the remaining 2/3rds of the item. In time for Christmas. Argh!

~~~~

I have been watching the Fencing World Championship. Vezzali is wonderful, isn't she.

~~~~

Other than that, some brief film thoughts, not entirely brought about by Revolver but definitely related.

So I watched Revolver, and I still don't get it. I also don't think it particularly worked, because were were a little too removed from Green's plight. That being said, I commend Guy Ritchie for at least trying. It's a film that does it's own thing, and does it it's own way, and that's something you've got to admire.

In a similar vein, a few weeks ago I saw New Jack City (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0102526/). Now, in terms of its content, it was a pretty basic hard ass crime action drama. But, and this is the thing, it had a message. Now, whether it got it's point across is a matter of opinion, I think it did, but YMMV. The thing that got me about it was that it did have a message. It was refreshing. There's so many major action pics that don't have that or an idea, I'll accept either. They don't seem to be making films like that any more, not action films anyway (honourable exception, rather wierdly, to the comics films, good or bad, they tend to have messages, even if they're cribbed straight from whichever comic, and to the films of Christopher Nolan). It's annoying, because I like films where things explode but I want some solidity there as well.

Also, related to Mark Strong's role in Revolver, and his role in Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy )
~~~~

Caught part of Newsnight - James Rubin is looking old. This is not a good sign re: my own age.

~~~~

Human Target - Why is Indira Varma not on all the programmes. Any programmes. In short, damn it Fox, don't give an actress I like a role and then cancel the programme.

And Guerrero has the same problem with dressing smartly that I have. The man is naturally crumpled. And the sinisterly fun evil. Especially when he comes out with 'I'll give you a choice, because I believe in every human being's right to be tortured democratically'.

~~~~

Book Meme - Day 11 - A Book I Hate

Again, going with something I've said before - The Story of Tracy Beaker by Jacqueline Wilson.

I now realise why our year 6 teacher made us read it rather than the infinitely more fun books we had read, like George's Marvellous Medicine or Mrs Frisby and the Rats of NIMH. Because Tracy Beaker was more realistic and more 'grown up' and we obviously needed to read those kinds of books if we were going to grow up and be good little teenagers at high school. I take it you can hear my eyes rolling.

Unfortunately, it's kind of difficult to interest me in a 'realistic' books. It gets worse when it's an unsympathetic lead character, who we're supposed to feel sorry for because she's had a shitty life. And by the by, she has, she has a mother who reminds me somewhat excessively of my Auntie Jackie, and she's been let down by her once too often. The problem is, the people Tracy is horrible to are people who have had equally if differently shitty lives. And, yes, part of the story of 'Tracy Beaker' is that she learns this and vows to stop being quite such a cow. But, and this is the important part, I don't care about it. There are no horrible grannies being poisoned, there are no hyper-intelligent rats, what is my angle of interest? Apparently, just because there is a female lead character of around my age I'm supposed to be interested. It was annoying, and the kind of wooly-headed thinking my year 6 teacher specialised in. So yes, some part of my dislike of the book may be tied up with my dislike of the way my year 6 teacher did her thing.

But even beyond that, it's a bit of a boring book, and I don't get why people go cockahoop over it.

The Other Days )
redfiona99: (cycling)
I'm not sure whether to laugh or cry.

I mean, one of my favourites, Tommy Voeckler is in yellow. There is nothing there not to be happy about.

But at the same time, my absolute favourite, Vinokourov, has finished his last tour in the back of an ambulance and not in Paris. The yellow jersey is the only one of the great tour jerseys he's never worn and now he won't have a chance to.

That's before you even get to Johnny Hoogerland and Juan Antonio Flecha who got knocked over by one of the TV cars. And they're both remarkably calm about the whole thing, given. I really do hope Hoogerland can carry on after the rest day.

~~~~

The F1 was less upsetting than that, other than McLaren once again managing to stuff up their own chances.

~~~~

Another week, another book to film adaptation that looks like it's going to go horribly wrong - http://uk.movies.yahoo.com/blog/article/223543/the-adventures-of-tintin-secret-of-the-unicornexclusive-trailer.html

Nothing against the style, but um, half of that is 'The Crab With The Golden Claws' not 'The Secret of the Unicorn'.

~~~~

Book Meme - Day 5 - A book that makes you happy

I like a lot of books, but I don't think there's any I read because they make me happy. I think they sort of distract me and entrance me instead. That doesn't mean that there's not a lot that I re-read because I know they will have that effect.

The Other Days )
redfiona99: (Default)
Final call for the X-men Movieverse ficathon -



~~~~

Semi-related RL story, a guy tried to pick me up using the word groovy. I stopped laughing long enough to turn him down, but someone really ought to tell him that hasn't worked since the 60s and right now it really doesn't work on anyone who has seen X-men:First Class.

~~~~

Film related, I got forwarded the Tinker, Tailor, Soldier, Spy trailer (http://www.guardian.co.uk/film/video/2011/jun/30/tinker-tailor-soldier-spy-traiker?CMP=twt_fd). Mostly it seems to be every kind of wrong (sorry [livejournal.com profile] wishtheworst, you might have got a lot of this on twitter), every single solid kind of wrong it could be which is annoying because I love pretty much every actor involved.

~~~~

Now that I have finished the 30 days of tv meme, and the music one and the film one, I think it's high time for the book one, as pinched from [livejournal.com profile] opera142.

Day 01 - Best book you read last year

I'm really bad at keeping records of what I read, plus I re-read books a lot. I've also been on a bit of a non-fiction kick and I find them harder to compare.

Probably though it would be between:

The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks (http://www.amazon.co.uk/Immortal-Life-Henrietta-Lacks/dp/0230748694 [other booksellers exist /bbc]) which was really interesting but maybe a bit too gonzo for my taste.

How Things Are Made: From Automobiles to Zippers - (http://www.amazon.com/How-Things-Are-Made-Automobiles/dp/1579122744) because how things are made is one of those things that interests me and has interested me for a long time.

The Panda's Thumb (http://www.amazon.com/Pandas-Thumb-Reflections-Natural-History/dp/0393308197/ref=sr_1_1?s=booksie=UTF8&qid=1309453534&sr=1-1) because I love the way Gould writes.

The Other Days )
redfiona99: (Default)
For [livejournal.com profile] fileg, my unpopular LOTR opinions. Very Hobbit-centric at the moment because a lot of my RL friends are presently bemoaning and bewailing said adaptation.

1 - Re: aformentioned film - Breathe people. Really. While it is possible to have a film with v. good actors (they have got all my favourite actors who are not already in Game of Thrones), good directors and a solid production crew turn out bad, it's unusual.

2 - Also re: the Hobbit - Maybe the dwarves will finally get some of the recognition they deserve for they are awesome. Um, yeah, I'm an intrinsically dwarf-sort of person.

3 - Again, re: the Hobbit - some changes will be made. This is so people who are not already enmeshed in Middle Earth will watch the film, because, rightly or wrongly, a lot of people view The Hobbit as a children's book and will therefore not go and watch it unless they have children. Some of these people previously watched the LOTR trilogy, and would therefore be lost custom unless they're attracted to the cinema. We want them to keep making fantasy films, don't we?

4 - An oldie, but it remains the truth - Tom Bombadil is scarier than Sauron.

For [livejournal.com profile] saruwatari, my unpopular Star Trek: TOS opinions.

1 - TOS will always be my favourite. Because I love it so. I know it's not perfect but it has a high awesomeness per episode. Unpopular because, well, I know I ought to like DS9 better, and it's definitely my second favourite, but I just love TOS more.

2 - Kirk is not the skirt-chaser popular culture portrays him as. Or not the way it does. He'll give up a girl for the mission without a second shot. (Damn it, you're making me stick up for Kirk)

3 - Best Trek film remains The Undiscovered Country. I like the way it ties things up without cutting the threads. And that ending. And Worf's grandfather. And pretty much everything about it.

4 - I still don't get why everyone has such a hatred for season 3. It's not that bad, people.
redfiona99: (Default)
Elimination Chamber - I only saw the last hour but still spoilers. )

Film Meme:

Day 24 - The best page-to-screen film adaptation

I'm temporarily discounting plays and comics because they're different media all together and bring different problems to adapting them.

I also not going to name an actual film, for reasons which will become clear.

There's lots of different adaptations, some from books so obscure you didn't even know they were a book first, some from books you love and no-one will ever be able to get exactly right.

That brings up one of the first problems. What do you want out of an adaptation? Do you want exactly accurate, or are you happy with just the feel of the piece?

That was one of my problems with the Watchmen adaptation, it was almost panel for panel accurate, and yet managed to miss the spirit of the comic.

I'd rather a film-maker do something gloriously filmic, rather than a wet re-tread of a book. Did Kubrick change things in Clockwork Orange, yes, but were they worth it? Equally, yes.

It's like the version of Good Omens that's being rumoured. Do I think it'll be better than the rumoured Terry Gilliam version that now appears not to be happening? Yes. Do I think the Gilliam version would have been far more interesting visually? Yes.

I know people who are still angry about Tom Bombadill not being in Lord Of The Rings, and yet, could they have done him right? (Also, Tom Bombadill is scarier than Sauron)

Blade Runner bears almost no resemblence to the work on which it is allegedly based, and yet I like it, possibly because they have at least had the decency to change the name. I think, if you're going to adapt something out of all recognition, that's what you ought to do. See also 'O Brother Where Art Thou'.

The Other Days )
redfiona99: (Default)
Apparently Being Human, the US version, is premiering tonight. If anyone who watches it feels like telling me whether it's bad, good or indifferent, I'd be obliged. Being Human (UK version) is a show I love rather a lot, and I'm worried that a bad US version might sour people on the UK one. I have seen photos of the cast, and, I shall admit, it does not look promising. They seem to have missed something important with George/Josh at least, which is very sad-making because he is my favourite character. And they seem to have made Herrick/Bishop far too obviously evil. Herrick's everyday evil (imagine if the Mayor from BTVS was a Bristol policeman) was one of my other favourite things.

Have seen nothing about who won what at the Golden Globes, but a lot about Ricky Gervais. No, US, you're supposed to like him, because if you do, you'll keep him and I won't have to put up with him being everywhere over here. On the matter of Ricky Gervais, I want two things known. 1) He wasn't funny when he was on the radio and he's not funny now. 2) When invited to perform at the Secret Policeman's Ball, he turned it down. In an interview later, he said that, as a comedian, it was his job to entertain and therefore he didn't do politics. In that vein, as a viewer, it is my job to be entertained, and therefore, I don't do Ricky Gervais.

The Golden Globes did lead to me gaining a love for Robert Downey Jr ("Aside from the fact that it's been hugely mean-spirited, with mildly sinister undertones, I'd say the vibe of the show is pretty good so far, wouldn't you?") and Tim Allen and Tom Hanks (Tom Hanks - "We recall when Ricky Gervais was a slightly chubby but very kind comedian." Tim Allen - "Neither of which he is now.").

On to happier things, an Austrian won in Wengen :D I now fully expect a Swiss skier to win in Kitzbuehel, but I'd love for Michael Walchhoffer to win there.
redfiona99: (Default)
Mansize Tissues

I have nothing against their existance, in fact, right now, I am very glad of it. It's the name I object to. I mean, there is nothing mansized about my nose, it is small and delicate and to scale with the rest of my five foot four body. Cease casting aspersions upon it, tissue industry. Also, please start making your balm tissues in larger sizes, they're lovely, but they're just not big enough.

The Green Lantern

My problems start with my Green Lantern looking like this Photobucket So mostly I'm confused as to why he's suddenly white, and before anyone points out that the other two Green Lanterns were white, I know, but you know what they say about the first version of a character you see being the one that sticks.

Other than that, the Green Lantern was my uncle's favourite superhero, and to this day he tells a fantastic story about how he waited with baited breath for the release of "The Trial of the Green Lantern" where all the other Green Lantern's stood in judgement on Earth's Human Lantern. Green Lantern means a lot to people and I refuse to believe they couldn't have gotten anyone better than Ryan Reynolds to play him, mostly on the principle that anyone would be better than Ryan Reynolds (why yes, I have seen Blade:Trinity and Wolverine:Origins).

The Green Hornet

The point about you imprinting on the first version goes for this too. I don't think I can overstate how gaga I was over the Adam West Batman when I was little. I'm sure my Mum and Nan can tell you horror stories if you asked them.

On one occasion, a new crimefighter appeared, who was on the Caped Crusader's side, eventually. Later on, I discovered that this Green Hornet fellow had his own show. You can imagine my excitement.

Of course, the best thing about the Green Hornet was Kato, who was awesome, and I have to admit I did end up calling it the show with the kung fu butler.

I have every hope that Jay Chou will be at least half decent, it's more the director I worry about. I worry about excessive jump-cuts and unneccesary artiness.
redfiona99: (Default)
Well it's either that or me getting enraged at the Tories making it impossible for anyone from the working class to go to university. And get angrily amused at the people who are shocked, shocked they tell you to find a Tory government would do this.

Film Meme Day 2 - A Film That Is Underrated

The Three Musketeers, the Gene Kelly version - http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Three_Musketeers_%281948_film%29

Which remains my favourite version (although I haven't seen the Douglas Fairbanks version).

There's so many things in favour of it, the fact that MGM seem to have spent money on it helps because everything looks rich and it's filmed in glorious technicolour. I love technicolour.

Gene Kelly's dancing background means that he can sword-fight well, and the fight behind the nunnery is brilliant, and witty and well choreographed. He's also got such puppyish charm that when the plot progresses, it hurts to see him lose it.

And, since it's my entry, here have that swordfight. All hail Youtube! )

Van Heflin as Athos is remarkable, because he and the script get the balance right between Athos who is a witty and entertaining, if perpetually drunk, Musketeer and the Comte de la Fere who is still not sure he did the right thing in regards to his wife and is in bitter and perpetual mourning.

I grant the remaining musketeers are only lightly sketched, but at least they're sketched with respect. I, for one, am sick of versions where one of the Musketeers is a dunderhead. They give them all such light and shade.

Milady is played by Lana Turner at her most stunning and ravishing, and dangerous. Technicolour almost does her justice.

Cardinal Richlieu is played by Vincent Price, being the affable charming kind of sneaky evil. And, this is something else they get right, it's not that he's actually evil, he's just against the musketeers, and it's nothing personal there either (he doesn't want to kill D'Artagnan), he just wants to have power over France. And of course Vincent Price is awesome.

I have seen this film more times than I can remember and yet, each time I find something new in it. It's wonderful.

The reason I say it's underrated is that, if you have heard of it, you probably only know it as the film that donated some of it's scenes to Singing In The Rain, for the bits that constitute The Laughing Cavalier. It deserves better than that.

The Other Days )

Wolverine

May. 7th, 2009 12:00 pm
redfiona99: (X-men)
Short thoughts, full length ones probably tomorrow evening.

Wolverine is a comic book film, not an adaptation of a comic book.
I like comics so I enjoyed it immensely.
The critics do not like comics, so they did not.

Profile

redfiona99: (Default)
redfiona99

March 2026

S M T W T F S
12 3 4567
8910111213 14
151617181920 21
22 232425262728
293031    

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 06:34 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios