redfiona99: (Thinking)
I had a whole post written up about next season's MotoGP roster but it has vanished into the ether. I will endeavour to reconstruct it.

~~~~

I, like everyone else, think that the Cal Crutchlow to Ducati thing might be a really bad idea for Cal. My logic is slightly different than everyone else's, but then again, I'm not a Brit so I remember Dovi smoking Cal on the same equipment last time they were in the same team together. And I think that was talent, not inexperience on Crutchlow's part. I think if he loses to Dovi again on the same bike, it'll do damage to Cal's chances of getting a decent bike* next time round.

I also think it's a boneheaded manoeuvre from Tech 3, I realise that they can't actually get rid of Bradley Smith (who is not as good as the BBC would have you believe) but Pol, bless him**, is only just coming up from Moto2 and how much can Bradley Smith teach him?

But, and this is where that impromptu interview the BBC managed to get with Cal Crutchlow at the British GP may have been slightly more revealing than Crutchlow had intended, where else could Crutchlow have gone. Basically, after the Honda and Yamaha factory teams, Tech 3 are the best. Ducati are the only other manufacturer team***. Gresini and LCR are good but satellite teams and I can see why they'd be less attractive than the team Ducati, even though I think either is a better option in results terms.

The other person this mucks about is poor old Aleix Espargaro (see the note that goes with **). I mean, if I were Herve Poncheral, I'd rather have had Aleix than Pol just for the experience edge.

* Because there are many things that Ducati is, and a decent bike is not one of them. And Cal is not Casey Stoner, he cannot, in the words of Charlie Cox "ride it like he stole it".

** Pol Espargaro is my baby. I am not reasonable on the topic of either of my adorable Espargaro boys.

*** Even if Suzuki come back, it'll be their first year, there are better places for Cal to be.

~~~~

In an amusing factlet for the Canadian French speakers on my flist - The "official" French TV transliteration for Vladimir Putin is Poutine. This may explain French/Russian relations at the minute.

Some Links

Nov. 13th, 2012 09:04 pm
redfiona99: (Default)
The first two are from [livejournal.com profile] nwhyte

Could a member of an extraterrestrial species be U.S. president? -http://www.straightdope.com/columns/read/2343/could-a-member-of-an-extraterrestrial-species-be-u-s-president

How Japan Turned the United Kingdom into a Cute Anime Girl - http://kotaku.com/5959112/how-japan-turned-the-united-kingdom-into-a-cute-anime-girl More like, how the users of a Japanese website turned the United Kingdom into a cute anime girl. And she is adorable.

Omnishambles named word of the year by Oxford English Dictionary - http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-20309441 Ignore the comments, it's full of reactionaries.

So The Onion publishes this - Latest Study Finds Cancer Cells Now Cruelly Mocking Researchers http://www.theonion.com/articles/latest-study-finds-cancer-cells-now-cruelly-mockin,30074/ The chemistry blog In The Pipeline blogged about it here - http://pipeline.corante.com/archives/2012/10/24/the_onion_on_oncology_research.php Cue various tales of scientists being tweaked by their assays, machinery or scientific life in general.
redfiona99: (Default)
day 01 | a song
day 02 | a picture
day 03 | a book/ebook/fanfic
day 04 | a site
day 05 | a youtube clip
day 06 | a quote
day 07 | whatever tickles your fancy

The site is http://www.phdcomics.com/ which is the archive for PhD Comics also known as Piled Higher and Deeper. It's a webcomic about PhD students and is the truest thing about the situation you will ever read. It skews slightly towards to sciences, but at least one character is a social scientist.

The first strip is here http://www.phdcomics.com/comics/archive.php?comicid=1 and it's interesting to see the characters grow up (it's been going since 1997). It's written by Jorge Cham who a physics professor (at Stamford I think).

If you know anyone think of doing a PhD, make them read this.

Profile

redfiona99: (Default)
redfiona99

March 2026

S M T W T F S
12 3 4567
8910111213 14
151617181920 21
22 2324 25262728
293031    

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 08:10 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios