I don't think it's a secret that Nolan is my favourite character. This is not much of a surprise since Bertuccio or the Bertuccio/Jacopo mash-up character is my favourite character in pretty much any adaptation (in the book it's Nortier. Because he is awesome.) And yet, I remember being highly suspicious of him in the first episode because while everyone else was smiling daggers at each other, he was the one that was actually saying what he was thinking. Of course, he turns out to be the one person without an ulterior motive. Like, literally the only time he didn't tell Emily the whole truth it was because he was trying to protect his Aunt who was the only family he had that he was still speaking to.
I also love that he is the non-action guy, but he does what he can, be it tech support, moral support or at least trying to do the violent stuff when necessary. Probably my favourite moment was when Aiden asked him about what his emergency plan was and his response was "Find Emily." And it was this wonderful thing of a character knowing that he's not good at disasters, and also wanting to make sure he knew Emily was okay despite the disaster. It's so adorable.
Because he is. He keeps trying to convince Emily to be happy with what she's got and to do the best for her, even when it's bad for him.
And then there's the way that he can be nice as pie and then suddenly, someone does something to annoy him (or endanger Emily) and then it's like a switch flips and you see how he became a multi-millionaire, because he is very capable of not nice.
Also, and here I think the show lucked out, Gabriel Mann is one of those actors who can cry realistically so they can go to him when they need someone to do the reaction shots. Which does have a downside - the constant imperilling of Nolan. This is of particularly concern given that the last thing we see of Nolan in season 2 is him being carted off by the police on terrorism charges. Just a quick word, dear Revenge writers - you are not to kill him off, and you are not to damage him.
And none of what's under the cut mentions that he's one of the few bisexual characters on tv, not the usual 'gay but in denial' or 'poly that's been mis-characterised by idiot writers'. All hail the non-idiot writers.
(Also, a separate point but caused by some looking up, but how is Gabriel Mann 41?!!!!!!)
no subject
Date: 2013-12-21 01:20 pm (UTC)no subject
Date: 2013-12-22 11:44 am (UTC)no subject
Date: 2014-06-25 02:35 am (UTC)