I think the thing I like the most about Revenge is that it lets Emily be the vengeful one. Aiden has second thoughts, Nolan thinks it's a terrible idea but Emily carries on and will carry on until she gets what she wants.
I also love that Nolan is totally the damsel. Let's see - character second most likely to be kidnapped and beaten up*, person whose job it is to do any empathising, and person most likely to shout the hero's name.
Exactly how this super-charged soap ended up being the show that does interesting things I do not know.
I've just realised that Conrad is Baron Danglars. How this has taken me so long I don't know. Which makes the highly mysterious Patrick Toussaint, I think. If Tyler wasn't most sincerely dead he'd be a brilliant fix for Andrea Calcavecci. It also explains the financial subplots this season.
*Dear Aiden, you're supposed to be a leet ninja, why are you the character most likely to lose a fight?
First, a brief detour into Formula 1. In the last few years, they've allowed the TV companies to eavesdrop on the team radio, which has added even more layers of plotting and counter-plotting. It also allows some insight into the driver's characters. And quite often, oddly enough, our results-orientated boys are a bit myopic, all why does my team mate have a faster car, why is this car so terrible etc. And with several of the drivers, it does make you like them less. Then there was the famous Kimi Raikkonen "Leave me alone" message (if you've never heard it, it's here - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vcbhNISAIF4 I recommend a listen). And everyone loved him for it, including me. And I think the reason is that it's not "why are you not making me better," but instead it's "let me make myself better".
I think that's why I don't like Anderson, his is the very teenage "give me all the attention and love" thing while AJ's whinging is at least of the "leave me alone to do my thing".
The interesting this is that TNA have (possibly deliberately, I'll give them that much) not had AJ do anything out and out evil. His have all been sins of not stopping Aces and Eights.
Fan-Fiction Meme Day 14 – Ratings – how high are you comfortable with going? Have you ever written higher? If you're comfortable with NC-17, have you ever been shocked by finding that the story you're writing is G-rated instead?
I go where the story takes me, and since the disclaimer is the last thing I write, I put on whatever fits best.
I wish that the big fic archives still did their ratings like film ratings because I know where the line is between a 12 and a 15 but I'm a lot less sure about what the difference is between the top end of teen and up and the bottom end of mature. Also, what the hell is a mature fic, does it have to include discussion of mortgage repayments.
I prefer to rate too high rather than too low, and because I'm one of those horrible European hippies I'm more likely to rate something higher if people are being unpleasant to one another than if there's sex (see also why Bitten By The Love Bug" is rated the way it is).
That being said, if you read something I've written and you feel there's something in there that I haven't warned for properly, please tell me and I'll fix it immediately. I'd rather over-warn than under-warn.
1 - How did you first get into writing fanfic, and what was the first fandom you wrote for? What do you think it was about that fandom that pulled you in?
2 - Name the fandoms you've written in, and how much you've written in that fandom, and if you still write in it.
3 - For each of the fandoms from day two, what were your favourite characters to write?
4 - Do you have a 'muse' character, that speaks to you more than others, or that tries to push their way in, even when the fic isn't about them? Who are they, and why did that character became your muse?
5 - If you have ever had a character try to push their way into a fic, whether your 'muse' or not, what did you do about it?
6 - When you write, do you prefer writing male or female characters?
7 - Have you ever had a fic change your opinion of a character?
8 - Do you write OCs? And if so, what do you do to make certain they're not Mary Sues, and if not, explain your thoughts on OCs.
9 - Pairings – For each of the fandoms from day two, what are your three favorite pairings to write?
10 - Pairings – Have you ever gone outside your comfort zone and written a pairing you liked, but found you couldn't write, or a pairing you didn't like, and found you could?
11 - Genre – do you prefer certain genres of fic when you're writing? What kind do you tend to write most?
12 - Have you ever attempted an "adaptation" fic of a favourite book or movie but set in a different fandom?
13 - Do you prefer canon or fanon when you write? Has writing fanfic for a fandom changed the way you see some or even all of the original source material?
15 – Warnings – What do you feel it most important to warn for, and what's the strangest thing you've warned for in a fic?
16 – Summaries – Do you like them or hate them? How do you come up with them, if you use them?
17 – Titles – Are they the bane of your existence, or the easiest part of the fic? Also, if you do chaptered fic, do you give each chapter a title, or not?
18 – Where do you get the most inspiration for your fics (aka "bunnies") from?
19 – When you have bunnies, do you sit down and start writing right away, or do you write down the idea for further use?
20 –Do you ever get bunnied from other people's stories or art in the same fandom?
21 – Sequels – Have you ever written a sequel to a fic you wrote, and if so, why, and if not, how do you feel about sequels?
22 – Have you ever participated in a fest or a Big Bang? If so, write about your favorite experience in relation to one. If not, are there any you've thought about doing? And if not, why not?
23 – When you post, where do you post to? Just your journal? Just an archive? Your own personal site?
24 – Betaing – How many betas do you like to use to make sure there aren't any major flaws in your fic? Do you have a Beta horror story or dream story?
25 – Music – Do you listen to music while you write? Do you make playlists to get into a certain "mood" to write your fic? Do you need noise in general? Or do you need it completely quiet?
26 – What is the oddest (or funnest) thing you've had to research for a fic?
27 – Where is your favorite place to write, and do you write by hand or on the computer?
28 – Have you ever collaborated with anyone else, whether writing together, or having an artist work on a piece about your fic?
29 – What is your current project or projects?
30 – Do you have a favorite fic you've written? What makes it your favorite? And don't forget to give us a link!