redfiona99: (Default)
[personal profile] redfiona99
Slightly delayed by RL, which is a whole 'nother post.

First, the year round up meme that I grabbed from [livejournal.com profile] frala many moons ago.



1) Was 2010 a good year for you?

Better than 2009. The PhD is mostly done, even if there is still no sign of a new job.

2) What was your favorite moment of the year?

D & L's wedding :)

3) What was your least favorite moment of the year?

Last year's answer still works - A few of my screw-ups in the lab.

4) Where were you when 2010 began?

Home

5) Who were you with?

Mum and Nan

6) Where will you be when 2010 ends?

As yet unknown, but probably either Coventry or St. Helens. Coventry. Repeat after me, I will behave.

7) Who will you be with when 2010 ends?

That depends entirely on the answer to 6.

8) Did you keep your new years resolution of 2010?

I think so.

9) Do you have a new years resolution for 2011?

Keep a better, more detailed lab book. But that relies on me getting another job. And, having had to put up with the boy cousin, I will not talk over people.

10) Did you fall in love in 2010?

My emotional life continues to be a minefield, but mostly due to me being avoidant.

11) If yes, with who?

A lady doesn't not kiss and tell. Although that's a story for another day.

12) If yes, do they know?

They're even less clear on the matter than I am.

14) Do you regret it?

Not really.

15) Did you breakup with anyone in 2010?

No.

16) Did you make any new friends in 2010?

New lab people, new fencers, the usual :)

17) Who are your favorite new friends?

I couldn't possibly say.

18) What was your favorite month of 2010?

If I'm allowed to remove the first week of August and stick the first week of September on to the end of August instead, I'd say that. Summer Sundae (my first festival), meeting up with some friends and my favourite conference, and writing most of the thesis.

19) Did you travel outside of the UK in 2010?

To Belgium. It was fun.

20) Did you lose anybody close to you in 2010?

Thankfully no.

21) Did you miss anybody in the past year?

The usual friends who have graduated.

22) What was your favorite movie that you saw in 2010?

Is it just me or was 2010 a bad year for films? The main ones I can think of are Sherlock Holmes, which was not good (sorry, I didn't like their Holmes, the plot was too simple, and the main good thing was the music. And the French. And Irene Adler.) and Inception, which I liked but has the problem of me being unable to empathise with the lead character. So I'm going indy-fied with my choice - Crying With Laughter (http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1349478/) wildly unsympathetic protagonist, who is, if not lovely underneath it all, at least screamingly human.

If we're talking films new to me, for a pretty bog standard war film, "We Were Warriors" has caused great thinky thoughts in me.

23) What was your favorite song from 2010?

I have missed a lot of songs this year, I blame writing up. But I think my choice is 'Pass Out' by Tinnie Tempah (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QzvGKas5RsU), whose name I have mispellt, but he started it.

24) What was your favorite record from 2010?

I am so out of it. I haven't even bought the new Manics CD.

25) How many concerts did you see in 2010?

Not counting Autohype (www.myspace.com/autohypeuk), I think the only bands I saw were at Summer Sundae.

26) Did you have a favorite concert in 2010?

Can you count an entire festival as a concert? If so, I vote Summer Sundae.

27) Did you drink a lot of alcohol in 2010?

No, it would have interfered with my hermit-ness.

28) Did you do a lot of drugs in 2010?

No.

29) How many people did you sleep with in 2010?

0

30) Did you do anything you are ashamed of this year?

No more than usual.

31) What was the worst lie someone told you in 2010?

I think just the usual level of lies, mine are mostly lies of omission.

32) Did you treat somebody badly in 2010?

I tried not to. I think, however, that there are people I could and should have treated better.

33) Did somebody treat you badly in 2010?

Not directly. But there are a few people who are going to get it in the neck for treating people I like badly.

34) How much money did you spend in 2010?

Too much, and yet I still owe the mothership money.

35) What was your proudest moment of 2010?

Oh, I don't know ... possibly that I'm now Dr. Red :D

36) What was your most embarrassing moment of 2010?

I'm sure I've done my usual share of stupid things. I have managed to mostly avoid public intoxication and public nudity. I count this is as a success.

37) If you could go back in time to any moment of 2010 and change something, what would it be?

Not sure. There was that fencing match where I lost from 12 - 5 up.

48) What are your plans for 2011?

Do the corrections, get a job. The usual.


Secondly, the yearly fic meme.

This year's fic round up.

Firstly, I'm going to divide the stuff I've written into two categories, full fics and fic-bits. The fic-bits tend to be stuff I've finished for challenges and so on.



The Man Who Had No Secrets (Batman, gen) - http://redfiona99.livejournal.com/665604.html

It's A Long Way Back From Acre (Robin Hood (2006), Much, gen) - http://redfiona99.livejournal.com/664423.html

From The Ashes of Disaster (Reign of Fire, Quinn/Creedy) -
part 2 - http://redfiona99.livejournal.com/598026.html
part 3 - http://redfiona99.livejournal.com/610429.html
part 4 - http://redfiona99.livejournal.com/625409.html
part 5 - http://redfiona99.livejournal.com/637055.html
part 6 - http://redfiona99.livejournal.com/655718.html

Things We Do Not Say (Tsubasa Reservoir Chronicles, Fai/Kurogane) -
part 4 - http://redfiona99.livejournal.com/604209.html
part 5 - http://redfiona99.livejournal.com/627972.html
part 6 - http://redfiona99.livejournal.com/639774.html

Precision In Everything (Watchmen, Adrian Veidt/OC) - http://redfiona99.livejournal.com/629807.html

Coloured Pieces of Paper (Being Human, Karl/Daniel) - http://redfiona99.livejournal.com/622689.html




Aren't You Glad You Didn't Tell (Randy Orton/Kelly Kelly, 50 Kinky Ways) - http://redfiona99.livejournal.com/614762.html

The Moth Don't Care That The Flame Is Real (Randy Orton/Ric Flair, Randy Orton/OC) - http://redfiona99.livejournal.com/595940.html





The Known Future (Father Octavian, 11th Doctor, gen) - http://redfiona99.livejournal.com/657910.html

The To Do List (11th Doctor, with a certain amount of 11/River and 11/Amy) - http://redfiona99.livejournal.com/623805.html





Communications Breakdown (Star Trek XI, Uhura-centric gen) - http://redfiona99.livejournal.com/642345.html

San Francisco Bay (Star Trek XI, Spock/Uhura) - http://redfiona99.livejournal.com/625336.html

To Touch The Stars (Mixed Treks, gen) - http://redfiona99.livejournal.com/599363.html


Not as many wrestling fics as I'd like, but then again, I've not had much chance to see the source. I hope that this will change. Thanks to [livejournal.com profile] chronometric, I've written a lot more Trek fic than I would have done otherwise.

Fic Bits



The One Two Punch (Firefly, Zoe, gen) - http://redfiona99.livejournal.com/646516.html

Reasons (Doctor Who, Martha and Liz Shaw, gen) - http://redfiona99.livejournal.com/646516.html

This Fire Is Out of Our Control (Tristan and Isolde, Tristan/Isolde) - http://redfiona99.livejournal.com/640483.html

No Mother To Guide Her (Indiana Jones, Marion Ravenwood, gen) - http://redfiona99.livejournal.com/639213.html

Acceptable Losses (Stargate: Atlantis, Elizabeth Weir, gen) - http://redfiona99.livejournal.com/637526.html

Not As You Left It (BBC Robin Hood, Marian-centric, Marian/Robin) - http://redfiona99.livejournal.com/637526.html

Claustrophobia (Star Trek: TOS, Spock and McCoy gen) - http://redfiona99.livejournal.com/601589.html


My gen roots are showing.



My favorite story this year: I am irrationally happy with 'This Fire Is Out Of Our Control'. I love it rather dearly.

My best story this year: I have no idea. Despite it being a bit tell not show, Coloured Pieces Of Paper got a good reception, especially given that it was about two one-episode characters. Given the time-limit, I think To Touch The Stars is pretty swish too.

Story most underappreciated by the universe, in my opinion: The Moth Don't Care If The Flame Is Real, but I grant that I am not rational about that fic in the slightest. 5 years, it took, damn its hide.

Most fun story: The To-Do List, but that's mostly the effect of Eleventy and the custard cremes. I think Claustrophobia, of all things, is probably the most fun, what with TOS Spock and McCoy being fun at the best of times :)

Most sexy story: There's a distinct lack of sexy this year. The only really smutty fic I wrote was 'Aren't You Glad You Didn't Tell' and that is not so sexy. I spent most of it wondering why the heck K Squared was doing that to herself. There's the sex scene in The Moth Don't Care ... but that, while I like it in a technical sense, and I think it works in the story, is also not exactly a sexy sex scene. Even in the stories I wrote this year that had sex scenes, it was unsexy sex.

Story with single sexiest moment: There's a moment that's not actually in 'This Fire Is Out Of Our Control', because I couldn't find a way to put phrase it in the style of the rest of it, but it's when Tristan comes into Isolde's room the first time and they just fit together perfectly and it's a moment where they do overcome the everything else (poor Mark!) and lust takes over. The nearest I managed to fitting it in was "She should hate him, and yet she takes him in." but I think that may have been a little too subtle, or rather so unsubtle that everyone took the straight-forward meaning, not the entendre.

Hardest story to write: 'The Moth Don't Care If The Flame Is Real'. Did I mention 5 years?!

"Holy crap, that's *wrong*, even for you" story: Precision In Everything. It was more explicit when I originally planned it out, but I chickened out, which, reasonably enough I don't regret in the slightest. It's plenty wrong even in it's watered down form.

Story that shifted my own perceptions of the characters: From The Ashes of Disaster, probably, there's lots of building going on.

Biggest disappointment: Reasons doesn't move the way it ought to. It's Martha and Liz Shaw, the two companions who left. There ought to be a sharp kind of recognition between them and there isn't.

Biggest surprise: San Francisco Bay. It wasn't supposed to be Spock/Uhura. I read the prompt and had this image, clear as day, of Spock looking out at the Bay from his rooms at Starfleet. I can describe the furniture and fittings to you, if you want, it was that clear. And he was talking about his feelings about San Francisco, and Earth and it not being Vulcan. And as I was writing, it became clear that he was putting the two environments together side by side for a reason and he was trying to, not justify something exactly, but reason something out. And suddenly I had this whole backstory that infused the fic and gave it its ending. It was all about him dating Uhura and how this is not how a Vulcan would behave and how he was a Vulcan, damn it, and yet, he loves Uhura and that's okay and it's not a problem and, it is, in fact, great. I should have guessed how it was going to end because the title, for once in my writing, is not descriptive, it's from 'Don't Marry Her' by the Beautiful South (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FH8ll5yHxWs).

Most unintentionally telling story: I don't think any of them really are, at least not that I can tell.

Date: 2011-01-04 02:17 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] idleleaves.livejournal.com
I, for one, am v. glad you wrote more Trek fic than you would have, otherwise. <3 (And double glad that it's because of my comm... yay!)

Profile

redfiona99: (Default)
redfiona99

March 2026

S M T W T F S
12 3 4567
8910111213 14
151617181920 21
22 2324 25262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 09:20 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios