redfiona99: (football)
[personal profile] redfiona99
0-1 down, that's mildly disappointing.

0-2 down, and I can live with it. I post facebook updates like, "It may be best if no one mentions football to me for the next month", but I am calm. I am thinking of the future. Some of the babies look good, I have high hopes for Criscito and Montelivio, and there's no way Di Natale and Iaquinta can continue to impersonate strikers until 2014, someone will twig that they're terrible.

1-2 results in painful high pitched squeaking because oh so close. But I am relatively okay, my facebook status is something sensible like 'it's the hope that kills you'.

1-3 causes a return to calm, because there's no way that Italy can comeback from that.

2-3 causes mayhem, like a status update of "Italian football team - I hate and love you."

The offside and the constant replaying of the goalline save that might not have been causes absolute inability to comment and burbling.



1) How much better were Italy in the half an hour of the tournament that they actually had Pirlo. Really, I know it makes no difference to reality, but I think Italy could have gone further if he hadn't been crocked.

2) Like I said, Montelivio and Criscito.

3) Quagirella, brave, bold Quagirella has another world cup in him.

During the match, I mostly drew comfort from the fact that I looked no sillier in my state than Gigi Buffon, who was slowly going mad on the side of the pitch. I forgot how he goes through agonies when he watches. I'm so glad that they didn't show Gattuso at the end, I sense my housemates may have mocked me for bursting into tears, but I really couldn't not have because, oh, my beloved football team.

Hopefully Cannavaro will see sense because, and I feel a right cow for saying this, he is now too old and too slow to be effective. His problems, that he used to be able to hide with his energy, cannot be hidden that way any longer.

I still think that it's not quite the worst Italy team ever, certainly not in my life time, because I still get frozen chills of horror when the Euro 96 team gets mentioned, but for a terrible team they didn't do too badly.

Profile

redfiona99: (Default)
redfiona99

March 2026

S M T W T F S
12 3 4567
8910111213 14
151617181920 21
22 2324 25262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 11:23 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios