redfiona99: (Default)
[personal profile] redfiona99
Episode 4 was awesome too, but we will get to that later.

I think I know why, structurally, episode 3 worked better than the other two, because all three lead characters got something to do. The first episode was mostly Mitchell, some bits of Annie's story and George flailing, the second was mostly George, some bits of Annie's story and Mitchell flailing, while the third part gave you parts of everyone's stories and everyone flailing. Also, especially the comedy bit when Annie returns , seems a lot closer to the pilot, as does the rest of the tone and the secondary characters.

As to the secondary characters oh Gilbert, how I loved thee. I mean, 1) it's nice to see a non-criminal Scouser on something and 2) they got him so note perfect. I know the people Gilbert would have grown up into, and the dancing in the park and the 80s indie kid miserableness. Especially the nitpickiness about 'Hang the DJ' coming out in 1990.

The soundtrack was perfect for him too.

I loved Annie's idea about what she had to do to make peace and move on. I really like how she carried it out, all the little things. And then, of course, the reveal. Back in the middle of episode 1, we thought that it was probably Owen that killed her, but then we met him and he seemed so nice, and even in the first half of this, he seemed nice, but then we get the reveal and it's a wonderful sting because we got to like him and there's the whole thing of people not being what they appear to be.

I love George walking in all joyously post-coital, having his news trumped and his reaction being that just once he'd like to be the centre of attention for 5 minutes. Actually the directing for the bit where you have the horror of George's transformation, the comedy of his sex scene, the shock of what's happened to Annie, the sadness and happiness of Gilbert's exit and the hotness of Mitchell's sex scene followed by Lauren running out on him (again), it's just so wonderfully cut, because it's not too jumpy but they all get their time, and it's constantly swapping.

I can totally see why Mitchell gets sex and feeding confused judging by the look on his face, but given that he seems to be even more turned on by being bitten (or rather, having the blood sucked out him - see the wrist bit) than by biting, and that vampires can sort of function as an ouroboros bleeding/feeding loop, um, well I'm just going to say I see why Seth and Lauren may both have made jokes re: him and Herrick. And no, I'm not planning fic or enjoying the pretty mental images.

See that's the thing, the me prefering Pilot!Mitchell (yes, even now, after all of this) is not me being shallow for once, because Series!Mitchell is so much more my cup of tea, physically speaking, but Pilot!Mitchell was so much more interesting.



So yes, awesomeness. I will probably swap in a Being Human icon at some point.

Profile

redfiona99: (Default)
redfiona99

March 2026

S M T W T F S
12 3 4567
8910111213 14
151617181920 21
22 232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 03:55 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios