redfiona99: (Default)
[personal profile] redfiona99
Doctor Who was interesting. I'm not entirely certain if it counts as a proper Doctor Who episode but I enjoyed it. As someone at the fencing said, it was fantastic meta and I loved the guest humans because I know them. I bloody well am them at various times.



The thing I liked most about this - it enabled more people to find out about the wonder that is Marc Warren. Because he is fabulous. I mean, was there anyone out there who didn't warm to Elton, because he was so squishy and normal and real. And the way he could switch, because it was obvious that something bad had happened when he first saw the Doctor.

I loved Ursula too. I mean, I was really worried that she'd die when Elton said 'poor Ursula' in that tone of voice. Not that what happened to her was entirely good, but she is at least alive. I like everyone else was deeply amazed at where they went with that, especially at 7.45 on a Saturday, but amused too, unlike Stu, but like the other fencer.

The other members of 'LYNDA' were cute too, and I loved the scenes where they were together in their golden age, and Mr. Skinner, who was always refered to as such and never Colin.

Peter Kay did a really good job and Victor Kennedy, in that he was just slightly off and I really did hate him.

The Doctor and Rose came off quite well in what were cameo roles, and I've just accepted that Jackie Tyler has to appear occasionally. I do like her when she's Rose's Mum, less so at other times. The Shade demon does sound like it would be cool if he actually appeared.

Which brings us to the thing I liked most, a kind of message that everyone is normal and extraordinary at the same time, like Bridget and Elton, because they've had some seriously bad things happen to them, but they've picked themselves up and carried on. And that everyone is deeply wonky.



Yes, I enjoyed that far more than I should have done. Next week looks intriguing too.

I shall not be talking about Italy v the US, mostly because I start by swearing at Zaccardo, who probably doesn't deserve the abuse I would pour on his head, continues with me swearing about the US team, most particularly Bruce Arena the coach and Dempsey and McBride, who dive as much as the Italians do and therefore have no right to complain, and then leads to a certain amount of swearing at Di Rossi, who is at least beating himself up at his own idiocy, and at the commentators.

The only person coming out of this well is Lippi who, shockingly for an Italian coach, made an attacking substitution.

I also saw most of Brazil v Australia, and ended up having to stick up for Shane Warne who was the guest Aussie in the ITV studio. I saw the highlights of France v South Korea and Croatia v Japan. Those two groups are going to be very, very, very close. As is the US/Czech/Italy/Ghana one.

Profile

redfiona99: (Default)
redfiona99

March 2026

S M T W T F S
12 3 4567
8910111213 14
151617181920 21
22 2324 25262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 04:13 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios