My somewhat late comments:
So I set off for Sheffield at 9 in the morning, and for once it wasn't the rail network that caused the chaos, no, I did it. In a move which should shred any belief anyone had in my competence as an adult, I forgot to get the phone number of my friend with the ticket. She did e-mail it to me, but I forgot to check my e-mails on the Friday night.
So I arrive in plenty of time, but have no ticket. By the time the full level of my foolishness became apparent and I'd bought a ticket, the first group of the men's free had already been and gone. Thankfully, I was in time for the second group
( Which was good since it contained my favourite performance of the day )( Group 3 )Being as I had not been following the skating news closely enough, and missed that it was just the Worlds, and not the Europeans and the Worlds, that Plushenko was missing, you can imagine that I was somewhat nonplussed to see his name come up. Somewhere between confused, elated and terrified. I mean, he's my favourite, my absolute and utter favourite, but I'm sure there are people who have favourites who don't make their hearts soar while their stomach sinks (or vice versa, my internal organs wish I'd chosen someone else).
The funniest thing was watching him and Gachinski skate in the warm up, because while I may joke about Mischin having a whole clone army of erratic blonds, it's only funny if it's not true. When he starts sending out two long, rangy, messy haired blonds in black and diamanté (thankfully, only one of them was wearing gloves), it becomes worryingly accurate.
( Men's free programme, group 4 )So yeah, that's how I unexpectedly got to see my favourite skater ever win his 7th European title live. It still makes me gleeful.
His interview before the medal ceremony was adorable. The interviewer asked how his knee was (he's done something to his meniscus) and he said it hurt and lot and he'd like to thank the crowd for giving him the inspiration to keep going. So the interviewer asked what his plans were after surgery, and he said that he hoped to be able to do the full season next year, and hoped to see us all at Sochi.
Now, logically, I know that he's unlikely to make it to Sochi. It'd be his 4th Olympics, and he'd be old enough to be the father of some of his competitors if he does make it. But there isn't an atom in me that doesn't want to see him get to Sochi.