redfiona99: (Default)
[personal profile] redfiona99
The Italian Supercup has just finished. There might be a small chance that it will be shown on US TV because it was held in the Giants Stadium in New York.

(I don't know why, possibly because FIFA are trying to convert the heathens)

Anyway it was Juventus v AC Milan, and it showcased the best and worst of Italian football. If you get the chance, watch it, if only for a couple of minutes.



They did it, Juve finally beat Milan. Admittedly it was on penalties but still they did it.

And Buffon is one of the best goalkeepers in the world. I take back every bad thing I said about him (until next week at least). And Ciro Ferrara scored the last penalty. Bliss.

This might have something to do with having Nedved this time.

On the AC front, if Juve wanted to buy one player to make the team complete I would suggest Pirlo because he is good. They have however bought a new defender, which is good because the back four were getting to mummification age, and he's good not least because he set up the Juventus equaliser. His name is Nicola Lagrettalie, expect a national call up soon.

Juve might have won on actual goals not penalties had Milan not been given a dubious penalty during extra time.



Oh and here's a photo, which amuses me, not least because I want to know what gestures Salas was making - http://sports.yahoo.com/sow/photo?slug=1059947015.argentina_soccer_bai114&prov=ap

And here's a photo of Pavel Nedved and Paolo Maldini, hey it's two of my favourite players in one shot, I couldn't resist - http://sports.yahoo.com/sow/photo?slug=1059942657.juventus_ac_milan_eru107&prov=ap

But yes, if I ever live in the US, I want to live in New York because they at least know what football is there.

Date: 2003-08-03 03:53 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] frala.livejournal.com
ohh thanks for the pic spam. If I could handle aother sport I think I'd so pounce on footy

Date: 2003-08-05 12:36 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] redfiona99.livejournal.com
You're welcome :) I'm liable to keep talking about it so you might not have to pounce.

Date: 2003-08-05 12:39 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] frala.livejournal.com
woo that works ofr me quite nicely. Between you and super em I get such lovely pic spam :D

Date: 2003-08-04 11:21 am (UTC)
From: [identity profile] biorhythm.livejournal.com
It's odd, because in the States football is the most common game children play all thoughout grade school, yet we don't have a pro league.

Date: 2003-08-07 02:28 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] redfiona99.livejournal.com
Two things I didn't know. That's the fun thing about footie, all you need is a ball and somewhere you can use for a goal (if you're desperate you don't even need two :) ) I think that's why it's so big, of all sports it's probably the one that needs the least equipment.

I honestly thought that MLS was pro. See this comes under trivia I can now spout :)

Date: 2003-08-07 02:39 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] biorhythm.livejournal.com
Well, that's not quite true; MLS is a pro league technically, but it doesn't get the same treatment as american football, basketball, baseball, and hockey. There are only 10 teams for one thing, and I'd never heard of any of them until I looked all this up :-P

In the US, it's just a game that millions of school children play, but gets almost no attention when adults play.

Profile

redfiona99: (Default)
redfiona99

March 2026

S M T W T F S
12 3 4567
8910111213 14
151617181920 21
22 2324 25262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 11:47 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios