Football

Mar. 19th, 2015 07:12 pm
redfiona99: (Thinking)
[personal profile] redfiona99
After yet another very good performance for Barcelona, I'm seeing a lot of the usual "Messi is the greatest ever" stuff. And I'm like 'he's really not', because if he was an Argentina side that had him in would have won something, but nope, no Copa America, no World Cup. And you can't claim to be a great if you're from one of the big football powers and have no international trophies.

I mean, imagine what Maradona could have done with the 2014 Argentine World Cup team. They would have washed away all who stood before them. Ditto Pele. Ditto di Stefano or Puskas or Zidane (who I don't think is on the same level as the three I mentioned before but ...).

Because that German team were good, you don't get to be world champions without being good, but they weren't great and if you're supposed to be in the conversation for GREATEST OF ALL TIME and you have team-mates of the standard Messi had around him, you ought to be beating them.

Messi is great with Barcelona, but, in the traditional Redknappian saying, my Grandma could be decent with that Barcelona side.

Profile

redfiona99: (Default)
redfiona99

March 2026

S M T W T F S
12 3 4567
8910111213 14
151617181920 21
22 2324 25262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 08:05 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios