redfiona99: (Thinking)
[personal profile] redfiona99
Which does have a Roman numeral, but I can never remember what year we're up to.

The good news being that Saints won the league part of it somehow. With accent on the somehow given our best player has been out since July, our second best player has been out since June, and we've had 5-7 of the first choice team injured at every single point of the season. And then had a form collapse at the end of the season. But such is the way of being a Saints fan.

The funniest thing was the way the entire Rugby League press decided that no, it would be better if Castleford won because obviously, Saints have been this glorious, victorious all-conquering monster the past few seasons (we've won nothing for 8 years). I totally understand that Cas are the ultimate underdogs (they've won nothing in 86 years) and I am totally okay with people cheering for them if they admit their biases see also Brian Noble who willing admitted he was cheering for them so I don't mind him doing it.

Anyhow, despite being the best team over the season, all we get is the plate, and there's still the play-offs to be won. We're doomed, but at least we've won something this season.

The other funny thing is that the Dream Team (so a season XIII) got announced and Saints got one person on it (the ever wonderful Tommy Makinson) while Leeds, who finished 6th, got 5 players on it. Cue outrage from everyone. Not on Saints's behalf, admittedly, because everyone agrees that Saints were terrible this year. I'm willing to admit it, I've been following them via radio, but if we were terrible, how bad was everyone else ;)

Profile

redfiona99: (Default)
redfiona99

March 2026

S M T W T F S
12 3 4567
8910111213 14
151617181920 21
22 232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 03:35 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios