redfiona99: (films)
[personal profile] redfiona99
Fic writing:

So I'm trying to write Xavier gen fic set during First Class. Accent on the trying. In between trying to shut Magneto up (no, this is not the fic about you. If you behave I will get to that fic sooner.), and having to go, "no, Charles, gen-fic. You know, gen fic. If you could possibly put the pom-poms down and stop chanting 'Erik is awesome' for 5 minutes this will go easier" (it's set during the training sequence).

It's either that or give up and just accept any fic I write for these is always going to be against a background of 'they're in love, yes, even/especially while they're trying to stop each other', but it will genfic within that background.

I think it one of those things where I call any fic where the focus isn't on romance gen fic, but I know other people don't. (I'm right by the way ;) )

Films

On the recent Leicester jaunt I watched

Having only seen the trailer for Dredd, I can see why people are saying the trailer is reminiscent of The Raid. Personally, it reminded me more of District 13, non-Hollywood action film, with it's own peculiar (good peculiar) style.

I think the inexperience of the director/writer showed in the pacing of the first section. Not the opening, or the police in the van, both of which were good a solid, but the bit after that.

The main bad guy was very effective. Terrifying without being hammy. And Mad Dog was suitably crazy.

The good guys we were supposed to like were likable (and adorable in one case), and the shade of grey character was fantastically grey. And his logic, while peculiar, was hard to argue against.

It's fantastically violent and horribly gory, and suffers a lot from injury levels that vary from scene to scene to fit to plot requirements.

It's probably not as good as people say but if you like that kind of thing, and you don't mind high levels of gore, it's good, and suitably affecting i.e. caused a room full of hungover graduates wince at the moments it wanted us to wince at, and we got caught up in the characters.



I also saw the Avengers for the first time since I saw it at the cinema. At some point I will post about it properly but on re-watching I liked the same things I liked before and disliked same thing as originally.



I think there's a good reason why they were deleted, in that they don't add anything. I particularly didn't like the Maria Hill scenes because it makes her unsympathetic (there are ways to convey character disapproves of a different character's actions without making her look like a sneaking rat).



I also saw "Team America", I think my suspicion that it's just not my thing was backed up by the fact that I forgot I'd watched it until I was reminded by a text message.

Unrelated to the above, but I think the problem with Mission Impossible 2 is that the bad guys are more interesting than the good guys.

Formula 1



Kamui!!! Sorry, I, as all good people are, am a huge Kobyashi fan.

I also love the Japanese fans. They seem to have the same problem I have, where their favourite driver isn't in their team, so there's people in 'go Kamui' t-shirts, with Kimi or Bruno flags (good taste there, peeps) wearing Ferrari wrist bands.

Bloody hell at that first corner. I do worry that being near Grosjean is going to be like being near Hector Barbera in the MotoGP, where, if you're there you will be caught up in Barbera's accidents.

Come on Schumi and Kamui!!!

Wow, I've never actually heard what the crowd are chanting so clearly.

Seb Vettel is adorable. And may well be the youngest triple champion ever yet.

I suspect the evil Lotus PR people have got to Romain Grosjean. Bless Webber for at least trying to come up with an excuse for Romain.

Profile

redfiona99: (Default)
redfiona99

March 2026

S M T W T F S
12 3 4567
8910111213 14
151617181920 21
22 2324 25262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 02:13 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios