redfiona99: (Default)
[personal profile] redfiona99
1) I have now seen two episodes of Human Target. I like it when they make shows that cater to my whims.

Heroic, but not stupid, lead good guy. Decidedly shady secondary character, working for the good guys out of principle (oh Guerrero, my fondness for you is probably a bad thing) and Chi McBride's character, Winston, who is my favourite thing about the show. I think it's his look of exasperation at the other two. My favourite bit of the last episode I saw was that Winston spent most of it going either "this is a stupid plan" or "you, behave!" and then when he talks to the bad guy, it was quiet and measured and totally wrath of God.

2) Saw Inception again

Cobb's conversation with his kids at the start reminds me of why I hate the use of "gone away" as a euphamism for "dead", especially when talking to children. All it suggests is that there is somewhere else that the dead person would rather be than with the child. Is it any wonder people feel abandoned when these terms are used.

In case anyone is wondering, I prefer the term 'dead'. It's what my mother used, so I am aware that there is nowhere that my dad prefers to be.)



Other than that, it holds up on second viewing, even if the same things that perplexed me last time still perplex me.

By the by, what is the correct form if you spot a prompt on a community, totally misread it, get a fun idea, write it and then realise that the fic doesn't fit the prompt? Are you obliged to credit the prompt at all.

3) Wrestling

-How do we know Cole isn't lying about the whole mystery e-mail thing?

-Also, the whole Cole <3's the Miz thing. What?

-Not a question but hello Randy!

Date: 2010-12-18 11:00 am (UTC)
coneyislandbaby: (Blue Rose by My Utopia)
From: [personal profile] coneyislandbaby
Is it an anon prompt comm?

Because if so, post a new, anon prompt that fits your story and then post it.

I did that once on a kinkmeme (actually it was the kink that I wasn't sure on, so when it was filled I changed mine and posted it).

Date: 2010-12-18 03:30 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] redfiona99.livejournal.com
It was a comment_fic prompt but since it's so far off base (the wrong person is genderswitched and it's a different pairing and it appears to be turning into righteously angry gen fic) I was thinking about not posting it there at all, but I was wondering if I needed to note where I got the inspiration from.

Thanks for the suggestion that may come in handy in future though :)

Date: 2010-12-19 03:02 am (UTC)
coneyislandbaby: (Default)
From: [personal profile] coneyislandbaby
Ah okay, that's a good point. Hmmm. You could try going through the lonely prompts and seeing if there's anything that fits the fic at all in those?

There's also the Dreaamwidth version, fic_promptly, especially if it's a big, recent fandom?

And you're welcome. I found out through various places that I wasn't the only one to have done that, either ;) Really when it's all anon, the point is more fic/porn, right?
Edited Date: 2010-12-19 03:07 am (UTC)

Date: 2010-12-18 02:49 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] idleleaves.livejournal.com
And here I thought I was the only one. I hate euphemisms for death. Gone away, passed away, passed on, whatever. They all anger me in a way I can't articulate.

Just say 'died'. Or, 'is deceased', if the word dead is too harsh.

Date: 2010-12-18 03:36 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] redfiona99.livejournal.com
No, they make me angry too. I think it's because they're so inaccurate and only really help the person saying them, not the person listening.

Profile

redfiona99: (Default)
redfiona99

March 2026

S M T W T F S
12 3 4567
8910111213 14
151617181920 21
22 2324 25262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 08:05 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios