redfiona99: (Default)
[personal profile] redfiona99
Oh this is not going to end well.

It's 14 minutes in and there've already been 3 yellows for the Turks and they're already barracking the ref, and he seems to be the persnikity sort.

BTW - how much do I dislike Portugal? Enough to want Switzerland (yes, that Switzerland) to beat them.

Further thoughts may be added later.

Edit: We're never going to hear the end of this. The Turks are one man down, desperately trying to get a replacement defender on for the one that's probably twisted/sprained something painful, can't. Czech's score. Turks are not pleased. It must be said, at this tournament, they've been ridiculously slow to get players on and off during play. It's almost like the ref and the 4th official are ignoring each other.



Edit 2: Much though I'm cheering for the Czechs, I've got to love the Turks. One of the linesmen's flags broke, and one of them (Tuncay) raced across to get him a new one because he runs quicker than the ref.

Edit 3: Again, well done the Turkish goalie.

Edit 4: This is why we (the Austrians), the sheer arrogance - "They want their shot at the quarterfinals," Loew said. "They are under as much pressure as we are but it is impossible to compare the two matches. We will impose our game upon our opponent." Jochim Loew, the German coach.

Go get 'em boys.

Edit 5: I'm in love with how desperately the Czechs are defending.

Edit 6: I'm old. The 1996 Czech captain has a son old enough to be playing in the national team.

Edit 7: Oh my God. I hate penalties.

Edit 8: What the flying fuck! Czech-land, no!

Edit 9: Oh my God! That poor goalie. And they're out of subs and this is just not fair.



Edit 10: I have a new player on the adore list. His name is Tuncay, and he's regularly lousy for Middlesborough and I don't care. He's lovely.

Edit 11: And now the ref has yellow carded a guy on the bench. To quote the commentators - "If a spaceship landed right now, it wouldn't be out of the ordinary". Goodness know what the Turks do for a goalie, their spare is semi-retired. And bless whichever Turk it was that shook the hands of the Czech players and tried to commiserate. Vaclav will be impossible tomorrow, and possibly for the rest of the month. My reason for cheering for the Czechs being the selfish 'it will prevent Vaclav from being impossible' reason.

But if Turkey can do this, then imagine what Austria can do tomorrow.

Profile

redfiona99: (Default)
redfiona99

March 2026

S M T W T F S
12 3 4567
8910111213 14
151617181920 21
22 2324 25262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 11:03 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios