redfiona99: (Default)
[personal profile] redfiona99
Um. I fear I have a confession to make - I think I enjoyed this more than Iron Man. In fact, I will go so far as to brand all the critics that hated this absolute and utter soulless morons.

Possibly that's because it looks like the Wachowski Brothers basically went 'what does Fiona like?' and threw it all in. There was sport. There were noble good guys and venal bad guys. There was some severe style. There was comedy, there was drama, there were consequences and people learned from there actions.

And there was an annoyingly catchy theme tune.

People who have a reason not to like this film - those with extreme objections to plucky child comic relief because I will admit Spritle was a little much, people who don't like a little silliness in their movies, and those with an exception to slightly over-the-top seriousness in their dialogue. Also photo-sensitive epileptics - this really is not a movie for you.

Other than that I enjoyed it immensely.



Did I mention this was extra-ordinarily pretty?

And has Christina Ricci in. Who at one point is covered in engine grease fixing cars. This may well come under the heading of fantasy material.

I like how they handled the romance. In that there was barely any of it, and what there was was sweet, light and bantery.

I love Ma and Pops Racer.

Spritle, Chim-chim and Sparky were nifty too, but John Goodman made me want to hug him at various points. Especially when Speed was about to leave and I was so terrified he was going to yell at him like he had done to Rex. But he didn't. Well done Pops.

And Matthew Fox can act. I have suspected this for some time, given that he's not too bad in 'Haunted' which I watch occasionally. Therefore I blame the writers on Lost. Because he totally owned me when the grand reveal that he really was Rex happened. Because I thought it was wonderfully done, the mis-direction when his face is revealled.

See consequences because he can't ever come back. Poor Rex.

Also, relatedly, if I can convince they to call me the Harbinger of Boom I'm so having that on my hoody.

Inspector Detektor was very pretty.

I loved Casa Christo. I loved all the set design and the background and the sound. And the details for the other teams.

I love the commentators too. They were so terrifyingly realistic. Except there may have been slightly more female ones than usual.

Anyone else think that Roger Allam seemed to be standing in for Tim Curry. I know there are very few ways off going over the top, but he seemed to go too far and not far enough. Which is a shame because he's a good actor.

Profile

redfiona99: (Default)
redfiona99

March 2026

S M T W T F S
12 3 4567
8910111213 14
151617181920 21
22 232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 03:15 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios