redfiona99: (football)
[personal profile] redfiona99
I finally watched the 2006 World Cup Final shoot out as live. Lossi and Kindoftrouble - I think the for the sake of the entire world's eardrums, we did the right thing not watching it live. I'm having palpitations a year on.

3 things I've noticed:

1 - Del Piero really doesn't celebrate that much when he scores. This endears me to him even more excessively than usual. Way to step up to the mark when it matters, Alessandro.
2 - The look on Grosso's face as they all go in. That is the look of a man who knows it's likely to be up to him. Fabio, I love and adore you excessively for not wilting under that kind of pressure.
3 - Cannavaro stands totally stock still for the entirity of it. I don't know if it's ever come out, but chances that he was number 6 to go?

Other things - I'd forgotten exactly how craptacular Buffon was at penalties. I know I always say this about him, but he didn't go the right way for a single one of those penalties. I am unaccountably upset for Barthez, because he at least went in the right direction for most of them, even if he didn't get a hand to them.

Dear Thierry Henry, I feel I have been unneccessarily mean to you recently. For hugging Trezuguet, you get a life-time pass into my good books. It must be said that Michael Owen has one too for talking to the Columbian goalie after the England v Columbia in 1998.

Profile

redfiona99: (Default)
redfiona99

March 2026

S M T W T F S
12 3 4567
8910111213 14
151617181920 21
22 2324 25262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 26th, 2026 12:47 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios