redfiona99: (Dr Who 10)
[personal profile] redfiona99
Went shopping with Mother. She bought me a suit for any interviews I have. Suit is lovely, comfortable and was hideously expensive. Am yet more beholden to Mother.

Bought the special edition of the Usual Suspects (finally) and Withnail and I, both on DVD, for under a tenner. All hail HMV sales and NUS cards.

Anyway, I was in the Hallmark shop and I saw the Goblet of Fire calendar and there was a picture of David Tennent on it, and unfortunately my brain went straight to 'yummy'.

Not good.

I mean, admittedly I still think the casting directors are wrong with both Crouchs, but dude, I so want to see it now. Well that and the picture of the Twins.

It's one of the things that really annoys me about the build up to the Christmas Invasion was how David Tennant is all twinkly but there is so much more to him than that.

The man can act, damn it! Anyone who's seen Casanova will tell you that.

The Christmas Invasion was every bit as awkwardly good as is expected. The SFX were BBC SFX, you know, good with the occasional man in rubber suit/bad CGI moment.

And most importantly, yes, this is definitely not the same Doctor.

That's important, his basic traits have to remain the same (just, fair, his entire impatient Doctorly arrogance) while the personality quirks have to change, and with him they have.

Mum doesn't like this Doctor as much, and I can see why. While he's not as obviously alien, he's not as sympathetic -

I think 9 would have understood what Harriet Jones did a lot more, probably would still have yelled and gotten her out of office some how, but he would have done it differently and more sympathetically. (See, same basic person, different personality)

I totally dug the Thatcher and Belgrano incident parallels with that too.

And the Dr. Who and the Silurians parallel. Basically the Brigader does the same thing to the Silurians, except the Silurians are a lot more sympathetic than the Zygorax and it's the only time I've ever seen the Doctor actually angry at the Brigader. Angry and disappointed, much like 10 is.

It's a 3rd Doctor story which might explain why I see so much of 3 in 10.


Loved the political stuff, although it may date badly.

And dear Gods do I love this new Doctor. But I worry about him, there's something just a little off, just a little not right, and it worries me. Especially right at the end.

I mean, it wouldn't be the first time a regeneration has sent the Doctor loopy but this is the bad loopy, not the 'gosh, I have no idea who I am' loopy (although that is a feature) or the 'I feel weak and feeble' (which is also there), I worry that this is something else.

But whereas 9 was the last man standing of the time war, and messed up because of that (and having seen the 2nd part of 'The Empty Child' I feel so sorry for him, with the whole 'let this be the one where everyone lives'. Poor Doctor.) this one isn't. This one's old and dangerous in a young body.

I mean, that seen at the end where *** **** the **** and he punishes them and his whole speech about humanity, dear Gods was he ever scary. Clever and scary, which is even more terrifying.

But yes, looking forward to the new series and I should probably work on a better Dr. Who number 10 icon.

Profile

redfiona99: (Default)
redfiona99

March 2026

S M T W T F S
12 3 4567
8910111213 14
151617181920 21
22 232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 02:39 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios