Oct. 30th, 2021

redfiona99: (f1)
Something about this race felt like it marked a real sea-change. For so long, if any non-Mercedes car has been in the lead and a Mercedes was hunting, the result was inevitable. That Mercedes car was going to close and close and then press the go-faster button, cue *yet another* Mercedes win.

This time that didn't happen.

The Mercedes caught up, but couldn't get within DRS range of Verstappen's Red Bull. Now, I'm hoping this means an end to the automatic Mercedes dominance (yes, two very dominant teams is not that much better than just having one dominant team, but it is better).

Would I like the pretty red cars to reach the stage of not being one of the teams that is automatically overtaken by any chasing Mercedes - yes, but right now I am more concerned with them cleanly beating the McLarens and getting third place.

That is being hamstrung by some poor tyre choices. For instance, Sainz jnr having to start on soft tyres.

And also, slow pitstops, which seem to have become a bane again.



This means the updated diagram contains one red card and one yellow card. The yellow card will be upgraded to red if pitstop performance doesn't improve.

Large image below the cut )

I am going to give Sainz jnr another off-the-chart cookie for putting up with the nonsense. Also deserving of cookies for putting up with the nonsense is Michael Masi, F1 race director, or "chief cat-herder of the naughty schoolchildren" as the role is also known. Never have I heard someone quite so done with team's whinging as Masi here.

Profile

redfiona99: (Default)
redfiona99

March 2026

S M T W T F S
12 3 4567
8910111213 14
151617181920 21
22 2324 25262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 07:39 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios