Jul. 16th, 2011

redfiona99: (Default)
But first, a tweet from David Millar from Thursday >>"About 10km into race we had first big crash. Big wide straight road, smooth surface, DRY, and UPHILL. Still we crash. Embarrassing now." David Millar << There is a man who is sick of being caught in other people's crashes.

Thor Hushovd is just <3s, made entirely of them. He's a sprinter, probably the last of the old hefty sprinter mould (it used to be that sprinters were big guys and climbers were whippets. Now they're all whippets.) and he won a mountain stage. He won the stage that had the Aubisque (an haut categorie climb).

Geert Steegmans deserves some sort of careful but loving cuddle for apologising for having to drop out of the tour because of a broken scaphoid.

David Moncoutie is retiring which makes me sad. He has shouldered French hopes manfully.

Jeremie Roy for keeping on trying, he seems to have been in half the breakaways this year.

From today:

Mark Cavendish gets some for being lovely, as he was a couple of days ago - >>“It’s been incredibly tough to just survive these mountains. I thought I was climbing well. I lost so much weight before this Tour de France but I just can’t seem to get the power out. I can’t get settled on the climb and it’s frustrating but I’ve got an incredible group of guys around me. If they’re not riding on the front, if they’re not leading me out, they could be having an easy day in the ‘grupetto’ but they’re dropping behind and towing me back when I’m dropped. I’m incredibly lucky to have them around. It’s not hard for me to switch gears when I go from the mountains to the sprint stage because I can smell the finish line. And so that’s okay. It is funny though because we were watching Twitter this morning and Cadel was saying, ‘Now the Tour starts...’ and I was like, ‘I am absolutely on my knees...!’ and he’s saying that. It’s humbling actually. I believe I’m the best finisher of the job but I’m always in the best position to do that. You see that when I’m not in the best position, I don’t always win but my team does an incredible job to put me in this position and it’s hard for me to lose really.”

And Voeckler and Rolland for carrying on. Oh and Cadel Evans for calling all the cycling reports who are writing Voeckler off idiots.

Meme

Jul. 16th, 2011 08:05 pm
redfiona99: (Default)
Pinched from [livejournal.com profile] one_more_cherry and [livejournal.com profile] saruwatari

Give me a character's name and I will tell you reasons why it would be terrible to try to date them, have sex with them, or be in a long-term relationship with them.

For an extra challenge, pick characters you know I'm really fond of. Anyone can tell you reasons not to date Cthulhu, after all.

Profile

redfiona99: (Default)
redfiona99

March 2026

S M T W T F S
12 3 4567
8910111213 14
151617181920 21
22 232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 02:30 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios