redfiona99: (Default)
[personal profile] redfiona99
Impact, I do not want Trey's Mom in place of Stacy's Mom. Adorable though the idiot weed broz are. (If this ends up with a Trey's Mum on a pole match ... well I will laugh like a drain and then complain.)

Sinister Minister is the one person who can be both sinister, but not like that, and I like that in a villain. Rosemary is team good chaos.


That was well done. Good looked valiant, evil looked evil, two of the competitors looked amazing. Seriously, who isn't a fan of Rich Swann after watching this match.

Yes, I could have done with less fake blood from the mouth, meaning I could have done with less volume, less fake-looking blood and less of the entire idea, but other than that ...

I'm not sure how you could have organised it better. Nice opening match between Moose and Daga that makes Daga look good and explains why Moose might not be able to fully murderise Swann. Then Elgin comes in and Rich Swann takes everything he can dish out and just won't lose so Elgin loses it on a ref and gets eliminated while still looking murderous while Rich Swann looks a million dollars.

Out comes Brian Cage who, obvs., does not want to hurt Swann but is doing what he must to get his hands on the Vile Callihan. Rich Swann looks a million dollars while losing. Brian Cage looks terrifying and driven.

Once Blanchard comes out, that was where they were very clever, because unless you're one S. Callihan, you don't want to see Brian Cage marmalise her, but you understand that he needs to go through her to get his hands on the vile one. On the other hand, Tessa remains the best defender of right, good, true and TNA that we have so we understand why she is getting in the way of Cage's revenge.

The fact that Tessa isn't the largest knockout helps, because it means that they can play it as her using her nous and her speed (and vs. the Vile One her justifiable rage) rather than out-strengthening them.

And the result of this is excellent, because it opens the door to Tessa being World Champion and then Brian Cage can marmalise Callihan. I also <3 that Brian Cage was happy for her. Like he'd be totally justified in fuming, but he isn't because he is lovely.

AND TESSA BLANCHARD GETS A TITLE MATCH AT HARD TO KILL AND I AM ASQUEE AND ACAPSLOCK AND OMG!!!!!


Weapon X is an excellently nerdy name for your finisher, Mr. Cage.

Date: 2019-12-21 09:38 pm (UTC)
ioplokon: purple cloth (tessa heel hair)
From: [personal profile] ioplokon
Yes - I love that Tessa is smart, fast, and tough - and that's how she wins, not only because it's believable given her size but also because... it really shows how much her character has grown in the past year. Tessa Blanchard last year would never have been able to beat Brian Cage because she lost her cool the second she wasn't immediately dominant. Look at her whole feud with Taya and everything that came before her match with Gail Kim. Especially look at her Ironwoman matches vs Mercedes Martinez. She knew she had huge expectations on herself and she held herself to that standard to the point that... it was psychologically devastating when she faced even the prospect of losing. Now Tessa is punching above her weight class (literally) and knows that she needs to play the long game, weather the storm and catch her much larger, much more experienced opponents in a mistake in order to have a chance of winning. Impact also loves the trope of "babyface luck", which I really enjoy. It points to the kinda fundamentally different worldview of WWE vs TNA - in WWE it is very much like, the bigger/stronger/better person will win, every time. TNA is much more into the idea of the like, anti-catastrophe or some kind of concept of grace, where despite all odds, good wins out.

To be a bit critical, I really don't get what Impact sees in Elgin to protect him to the extent that they are (I mean, I guess he's the new monster so you wanna keep that running while you can). For me, even having seen him live, there's absolutely no emotional connection to his work and his promos are like... you can actually see him try and fail to dial up the intensity. I think it's telling that they keep putting him in matches with people who are better and more interesting than he is, I guess.

Profile

redfiona99: (Default)
redfiona99

March 2026

S M T W T F S
12 3 4567
8910111213 14
151617181920 21
22 232425262728
293031    

Most Popular Tags

Page Summary

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 03:06 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios